Our favourite recipes: superfood brownies

You will just not believe what is in these brownies as they are quite possibly the best brownies I have EVER had; I made the recipe up at random using bits from the fridge and cupboard and I’m really not great at baking, so it is a minor miracle that these brownies turned out to be so amazingly delicious, fudgy and rich. 

  
Please, before you screw your nose up at the ingredients, give it a try and see for yourself! Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 100g dark cocoa powder (I like green & blacks)
  • 5 or 6 cooked beetroots
  • One medium sized sweet potato, steam cooked – stay with me here! 
  • 50g ground almonds
  • 50ml coconut milk (full fat) 
  • 2 teaspoons almond butter
  • 200g honey
  • One egg
  • One teaspoon baking powder
  • A drizzle of coconut or olive oil 

  
Here’s the method: 

  1. Cook the beetroot (or cheat and buy pre-cooked like I did!) and peel, chop and steam the sweet potato
  2. Heat the oven to 180
  3. Put into a bowl with all the other ingredients except the ground almonds, mix really well with a blender / food processor or hand blender 
  4. Stir in the ground almonds, mixing well 
  5. Pour all the mixture into a square tin or dish
  6. Bake for about 30 minutes, but check at 20 mins as your oven may be more powerful than mine
  7. Leave to cool then transfer to the fridge – keep them in the fridge as they tend to go a bit gooey if left out

I’m pretty lucky in that my toddlers will eat most things I give them, so I tried these for breakfast with some coconut chia, and they did pull some funny faces, I think because the flavour is so rich and chocolatey, but they kept asking for ‘more!’, which I’m taking as a seal of approval.
 
 

 Even my husband didn’t make fun of me for having yet another baking disaster (I made red kidney bean brownies once – not.nice.) so I think he approves too! And they went really nicely with my mid morning coffee. 

If you try them, I’d love to hear what you think! 

2 thoughts on “Our favourite recipes: superfood brownies

Leave a Reply

